What was your experiences at the Mino Paper village residency?

I was lucky because I stayed in the temple. I had my private house in Japanese style with a small garden. Also my family was very warm and welcoming . I still contact them now and then. The most difficult part of the residency was I sometimes didn’t understand Japanese and it hampered my co-operations. I must say that the Japanese are mystery even now. During my stay I met the interesting artists. The friendship I gained I treat like a blessing in my life.

How or has washi paper has influenced your art?

Working with Japanese paper has affected my artistic creation. Firstly, this paper is very strong and secondly, it resembles skin; Crushed looks like wrinkles and made from natural fibres is similar to hairy skin and perforated to a skin pore. The paper I discovered completed my graphic work, in which not only from the matrices, but also the surface.

Contact with another culture has enriched me as a human being and as an artist as well. I have taken an interest in the Far East. Two years after my journey to Japan I travelled to India and Nepal. In India I was observing people, their bodies and the relation of my body to theirs. I was interested in handmade papers, too. The Far East inspiration was the source of my artistic work and became so important that I used it in my doctorate (I developed a concept of a universal body).

What would be your guidelines for artists wishing to apply?

If you are able to live with a family together, if you are open on another culture and habits, if you are able to concentrate on your artistic work during 3 months in the small town, if you can try to understand Japanese which is sometimes not too easy… and if you say 4 times “yes” you can try to apply.

Has the use of the Washi material caused any interest in your country?

Absolutely YES! Not only in my country but during my another exhibitions in other countries as well. People ask me a lot of questions, writes to me, they can see the difference between plain paper and handmade washi.

Thank you Gosha (Malgorzata Niespodziewana)

blood-of-kumari-devi

Blood of Kumari Devi, 2005, linocut, stamp, kozo wrinkled paper, 152×52,5 cm

red1

Red, 2006, installation, paper figure, thread, linocut, artificial roses, wood, rope

dsc042412

Fragile, 2003, linocut on Mino Washi handmade paper
Blood
, 2003, Mino Washi paper, silk thread
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
Malgorzata Niespodziewana

Malgorzata Niespodziewana’s website:
www.niespodziewana.go.pl

Contact:

Malgorzata Niespodziewana is an conceptual artist who works as a print maker. She lives and works from Poland.

